Top Nav

Outlook Tip: Open the Next Message Immediately After Deleting

Outlook, by default, will return to the folder of a message after you delete it. If you get hundreds of email every day, it’s always good to find an advantage to get through them faster. To make things go more quickly, you might want to go directly to the next message. Here’s how to set that up in Outlook 2010 and the new 2013.

Make Outlook Go to Next Message After Deleting Email

Go to File > Options and select Mail in the left pane.

Outlook Options

Then in the right side scroll all the way down to the Other section. You’ll see “After moving or deleting an open item” from the dropdown menu, select Open the next item and click OK to save the changes.

Open Next Item

That’s all there is to it! Now when you delete an open message, it will open the next message right away versus going back to the current folder you’re in. This tip will allow you to manage your email in a more rapid fashion.

More Reading:


2 Responses to Outlook Tip: Open the Next Message Immediately After Deleting

  1. Lana Woller April 30, 2015 at 9:57 am #

    After I open my outlook 2013 emails I do not like how they display. I need to have a better system to view all open emails as the list takes forever to go through.

    Thank you!
    Lana Woller

  2. Eduardo September 23, 2015 at 6:10 pm #

    Here the same issue with outlook 2016 for mac, anybody knows some resolution?


Leave a Reply