Google is reversing course following its controversial rollout of Chrome 69. In addition to the refreshed UI, that many users don’t like, it also implemented a feature that automatically forced users to log into the browser when they signed into a Chrome service like Gmail. After receiving a heavy amount of criticism from security experts and its own user base, the search giant announced it is taking a step back and instead offer users more control over the changes.
Previously you would choose to sign in to Chrome to sync bookmarks, passwords, and history between devices. But with Chrome 69, if you just logged in quick to check your Gmail, it will automatically log you into the browser.
Google Reversing Course for Chrome 70
In a recent blog post, Google revealed it will give users control over the web browser experience in Chrome version 70, which is expected to rollout mid-October. While the automatic Chrome sign in (when you log into Gmail or any other Google website on the web) will still remain the default behavior, it will allow you to opt-out.
In addition, Google also announced a couple of other new changes coming with Chrome 70. It is making visual changed to the Sync UI to make it clearer if you’re syncing your personal data like passwords and addresses to your Google Account. And it is also changing the handling of clearing auth cookies. “In the current version of Chrome, we keep the Google auth cookies to allow you to stay signed in after cookies are cleared. We will change this behavior that so all cookies are deleted and you will be signed out,” writes Chrome Project Manager, Zach Koch.