How-To

How to Delete Multiple Third-Party Apps from Facebook at Once

After years of sketchy behavior, Facebook is starting to make account privacy management easier. Here is one more minor but important step.

Facebook has been getting the screws put to it since the recent coverage regarding the Cambridge Analytica scandal. The company has been dominating the news cycle for the past few weeks due to the controversy of how it allowed apps and services to harvest you and your friends’ personal data. The bad news seems to be getting perpetually worse, too. At the time of this writing, Facebook says the data leak has hit 87 million users. And with all the recent attention to the privacy issue, we asked if you will delete your Facebook account. Whether you completely kill your account or not, the company is scrambling to make privacy control easier for users.

As part of its ongoing damage control strategy, the social giant this week announced that it is now letting users delete multiple third-party apps and websites associated with their account in bulk. Previously, deleting apps with account access was time-consuming. You could only delete one at a time and confirm the removal. But that’s changing with the new bulk removal option.

Delete Multiple Apps from Your Facebook Account

The feature to remove apps and sites in bulk is rolling out to all users on both mobile and desktop. Head to your Facebook App Settings page then click or tap each of the apps you want to remove and then the Remove button.

Facebook App Settings

You will get a confirmation screen and it also includes the ability to delete posts, photos, and videos the apps and websites may have published on your behalf.

Verify App Website Removal Facebook

On your phone, open the Facebook app and go to Account Settings > Apps > Logged in with Facebook. Then tap each of the apps and sites you want to go and then the Remove button.

Remove Apps Facebook Mobile

Just like on the desktop, you will get the same confirmation message and can choose to delete photos and posts apps and websites may have posted on your behalf and complete the removal process.

Confirm remove third-party apps Facebook mobile

Of course, longtime readers know about the sketchy behavior of Facebook. We have an entire archive of Facebook articles that cover how to secure your account and manage it better. This latest feature is a small but important change that makes managing services with access to your account easier.

Are you glad to see Facebook take more steps like this to help you manage your account privacy? Or has the horse already left the barn? Did you delete your Facebook account? Let us know your thoughts in the comment section below.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 

To Top