When it comes to social networks and privacy controls, LinkedIn is one of the best. But, you might want to get your personal data off the site and close the account.
When it comes to social networks and privacy controls, LinkedIn is one of the best. But, despite good policies and user controls, they still know a good amount about you. If you decide you don’t want LinkedIn harvesting your data, you can delete your account.
LinkedIn will retain your information for so long as your account is active or as needed to provide you services, except in the case of our professional plugin impression data, which we de-identify after 12 months. If you wish to close your account, you may do so here. We will retain and use your information as necessary to comply with our legal obligations, resolve disputes, and enforce this Agreement.
Thankfully, LinkedIn seems to care more about your privacy than other networks. So if you don’t want to wait for LinkedIn’s automated removal process:
You may request deletion of your information at any time by contacting LinkedIn customer service. We will respond to your request within 30 days. Please note, however that information you have shared with others, or that other Users have copied, may also remain visible even if you request its deletion.
Log in to your account and click the Settings & Privacy from your account menu at the top right of any LinkedIn page.
Click the Account tab. Scroll down and click the Closing your LinkedIn account link.
The first account deletion page will ask you why you want to delete it. You can list whichever reason you want. Click Continue to confirm the deletion.
LinkedIn will ask you to confirm you are closing the correct account.
If the last two pages weren’t enough, LinkedIn will ask you to confirm closing your account one more time. This is the point of no return. Once you click close on this page, your account will be logged out and your public profile erased within 24 hours.
The last thing you’ll see is a page confirming the account was closed. From here on, your account will be logged out and no longer accessible. Within 24 hours, the email you had associated with it will be available again for a new account if you wish.