If you want to permanently delete your Google account, here’s how to back up your data first, then delete for good.
There are times in your online life when, due to various reasons, drastic measures have to be taken. Permanently deleting your Google account is one of them. I’ll show you how to do it but remember that the deletion will be permanent. But don’t worry, you’ll download your important documents first.
First, log in to your Google account. Click the drop-down next to your picture icon and select Account Settings.
Backup Your Google Data
Before starting the deletion process, download and save your data before you do anything you go any further. That can be done by following our guide on Google Takeout.
Or by selecting Data Liberation on the left side of the screen that comes up. It’s good to keep a backup of all of your important documents and other data you have stored on Google servers just in case you need something you’ve stored there over the years.
Permanently Delete Your Google Account
Time to get down to business and delete your Google account. You’ll notice that getting rid of a Google Account is easier than actually getting one.
Go back into Account Settings, then click Account Overview on the menu on the left.
Under Services, click Close Entire Account and Delete All Services and Info Associated With It. If you click the link above it, only your Google+ profile and associated features are deleted.
Google will ask you to confirm your understanding of the services you’re losing access to. It will ask for your password, a final confirmation and you’ll still need to pay any pending charges you might happen to have.
Check all of the boxes if you don’t want anything left. OK, last chance to reconsider. No? Still, want to delete it? Then, click Delete Google Account.
It’s gone. You’ll see the following Account Deleted confirmation screen.
That’s it! Your Google account is permanently gone. You can still use Google search though if that’s your engine of choice.
Also, while you are at it, check out our article on how to delete your Google+ Profile if you haven’t already.