How-To

How to Lock Photos on iPhone

Do you have sensitive photos on your iPhone that you don’t want people to see? Here’s how to lock photos on your iPhone.

Do you want to lock photos on your iPhone from prying eyes? Perhaps you lend your phone to someone, and they immediately begin to swipe through your photos. You could have some private photos you don’t want someone to see.

Luckily, you can lock your photos down using the Notes app on your iPhone. Yes, believe it or not – you can use the Notes app on your iPhone to lock down your photos.

This guide will show you how to lock photos on your iPhone so you have some privacy when handing your phone off to someone to use.

How Hidden Photos on iPhone Works

Starting with iOS 14, you can hide your photos folder in the Photos app. Press the share button while looking at a picture and it gives you the option to hide it.

Lock Photos on iPhone

Unfortunately, the hidden photos won’t lock with a password. Instead, you could always use a third-party app to lock photos, but you can do it from within your phone using the Notes app.

How to Lock Photos on iPhone

Every iPhone and iPad running iOS 9.3 or later has the Notes app installed. The first thing you’ll need to do is insert your photo in a note and lock it behind a password.

To lock your photos with a password on iPhone:

  1. Move the photos you want to lock behind a password if they aren’t already.
  2. Open the Notes app and tap the new Note icon to create a new note.Lock Photos on iPhone
  3. Type in the text that won’t attract attention to your photos. Note that this will appear in the list of notes after it’s locked.Lock Photos on iPhone
  4. Tap the Add Photo icon just above the keyboard at the bottom of the screen.add photo button Notes iPhone
  5. When you press the Add Photo button, a menu appears — tap Choose Photo or Video.take photo of video
  6. Now, tap the thumbnail for each photo you want to add. When you finish, tap the Add button in the top-right corner.How to lock photos on iPhone
  7. The photos you select will insert into the Note app file.photos in Notes app
  8. To lock the photos in the note, tap the three-dot icon in the upper-right corner.Lock Photos on iPhone
  9. That brings up a menu with different options; you want to tap on the Lock button.select Lock for photos
  10. Type in a password twice and give yourself a hint as it’s required. Make sure it’s not something someone else can easily guess.Lock Photos on iPhone

You’ll need to use this password to view all locked notes. Don’t enter something you’ll forget. You can toggle on the Use Face ID switch if you have a modern iPhone. Also, if your notes are syncing to iCloud, they’ll still be password protected.

Locking Photos on iPhone

Once you’ve set up a password or use Face ID, you can lock your photos.

To manage your locked apps, do the following:

  1. Tap the Lock Icon on the top-right corner.Lock Photos on iPhone
  2. If someone tries to unlock the note with your phone, it’ll display a message that it’s locked.Lock Photos on iPhone
  3. If you set Face ID to unlock your notes (photos), a message will appear making sure you want to use it. Tap OK.Lock Photos on iPhone
  4. The app will also provide a message letting you know not to forget the password if you created one – even if Face ID is enabled.dont forget password
  5. If you didn’t use Face ID, you’d need to enter your password to view your photos. After entering it successfully, you’ll be able to view your photos.enter password to view photos
  6. Now that your sensitive photos are locked go back to the Photos app and delete the pictures you locked in the Notes app.Lock Photos on iPhone
  7. Also, go to the Recently Deleted folder in Photos and delete the photos there.Lock Photos on iPhone

When you add the sensitive photos to a new Note and lock it, remember the pictures show up in the Photos app and Recently Deleted. This is important to remember if you truly want to keep your photos locked.

Lock Photos on iPhone

Using the Notes app to lock your photos is a helpful trick. When you lock the notes with your photos it will encrypt them. This allows you to hand a phone to a friend without them seeing embarrassing pictures.

Of course, the encryption isn’t perfect, and a determined hacker could get in to see the locked photos, but that’s a rare circumstance. Keeping your photos locked in the Notes app is clever, and the average person will not find them.

If you like taking photos on iPhone, check out how to take long exposure photos on iPhone. You might also be interested in recovering deleted photos on your iPhone and iPad.

2 Comments

2 Comments

  1. Keith Ainsley

    There is also another option. Go and “hide” the photos and then go into settings, photos and uncheck show hidden folder. Most people do not know about this and if you hand the phone off they won’t know is there. So if they snoop, they won’t see the “hidden” folder to go into.

  2. Brian Burgess

    @Keith Ainsley Thank you for the tip! We’ll try it out. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 

To Top