Top Nav

How To Disable the Google+ Auto Backup on iOS and Android

Yesterday I was testing out the the camera on my Nexus 7. I took a few worthless pictures, and then got a notification that those photos were ready to share on Google+ which I certainly didn’t want. As it turns out, at some point I enabled the Auto Backup feature which was recently added. If you don’t need all of your pics going up to the cloud, turn it off.

Disable Google+ Auto Backup on Android

First, launch the app and go to Settings.

Google+  Settings

Then in the Settings menu, go to Camera & Photos > Auto Backup.

g  App Settings Auto Backup

Now you can simply flip the switch to turn it off.

Auto Backup

Turn Off Auto Backup iOS

It’s easy to disable on the iPhone or iPad too. Launch the app and go to Settings > Camera and Photos > Auto Backup and turn it Off.

Turn off Auto Backup iOS

Stopping Auto Cloud Backup

I know Google is trying to make it easier for us to save photos, but auto backup everything…does it really need all that? This seems to be a trend lately with different cloud storage services. For instance, Dropbox does the same thing, it defaults to back up your pictures every time you plug a camera or smartphone in to your computer. And sometimes, no matter how many times you check the option to have it stop asking, the easiest thing to do is turn off the feature entirely.

What about you? Are you getting tired of cloud service apps trying to help you by defaulting to automatically backing up your data to servers in the cloud? Leave a comment and let us know!

, , , ,

2 Responses to How To Disable the Google+ Auto Backup on iOS and Android

  1. Digger November 25, 2013 at 3:41 am #

    Well that didn’t work.

  2. Lucas June 25, 2014 at 6:07 am #

    I wish I knew how to disable the notifications only for that

Leave a Reply

 

×

Amazon.com Year End Deals! Shop Now