How-To

How to Ungroup Emails in Gmail

Ungroup emails in Gmail

Need to separate your long email chains in Gmail? You’ll need to switch off conversation view. This guide will show you how to ungroup your emails in Gmail.

Sending emails in Gmail? Get used to email threads.

Threads turn long email chains into easy-to-read timelines. You don’t need to track down a specific reply, because all of the replies to your initial email are available in the same place—just keep scrolling until you see it.

Convenient for most people, but if you prefer to separate your emails, you can ungroup emails in Gmail. This guide will show you how.

How to Disable Conversation View in Gmail on PC and Mac

Grouped emails (also known as conversation view in Gmail) offer an easy-to-follow user experience for large chains of emails. If you’re using a PC or Mac, you can quickly disable the conversation view feature in Gmail using the quick settings menu.

To disable conversation view in Gmail:

  1. Open your Gmail inbox in your web browser.
  2. Click the settings icon near your profile icon in the top right.
  3. In Quick Settings, scroll through to the bottom and uncheck the Conversation View checkbox.
    Disable conversation view in Gmail
  4. You’ll be asked to confirm and refresh the page—tap Reload to do this.
    Reload Gmail inbox

Once you reload, your inbox will change to ungroup your emails in Gmail. Any email replies you receive will appear separately.

Want another way to ungroup your Gmail emails? You can also disable the conversation view feature in Gmail by pressing the settings icon > See all settings. In the General tab in Settings, make sure to select the Conversation view off button, then press Save at the bottom.
Disable conversation view in Gmail settings

How to Ungroup Gmail Emails on Mobile Devices

You can also switch off the conversation view feature and ungroup emails in Gmail using the Gmail app. This is available for Android, iPhone, and iPad users.

These steps show you have to ungroup Gmail emails on an Android device. However, the steps should remain the same (or very similar) for iPhone and iPad users.

To disable conversation view on Android, iPhone, and iPad:

  1. Open the Gmail app.
  2. Tap the menu icon (top-left).
    Open the Gmail menu on mobile
  3. In the menu, tap Settings.
    Open the Gmail settings menu
  4. Select a user account from the menu.
  5. Scroll through the menu and uncheck the Conversation view checkbox.
    Disable conversation view in the Gmail mobile app

After you disable the conversation view feature in the Gmail app, your inbox will refresh automatically. Any email chains will become ungrouped, allowing you to view each reply separately.

Using Gmail Effectively

For most users, email threads make it easier to keep track of replies. If you prefer a classic email experience, however, you can ungroup emails in Gmail using the steps above.

New to Gmail? There are plenty of other features or settings you can tweak with. For instance, if you’re sending emails to lots of users, you might want to create a group email list.

Need to clear out your inbox? You can always delete all of your Gmail emails for a refresh (and clear some storage space while you’re at it). You can also organize your Gmail emails using labels, letting you move emails from different recipients into folders automatically.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 

To Top