News

Google Updates Youtube: Adds Semi-Private Unlisted Share Option

Google continues to add new features to YouTube. Here is the latest.

On Wednesday, YouTube implemented a new update that allows you to update videos with new viewing permissions.  With this new Unlisted option, your video will no longer show up in YouTube search results (or related videos), but it will still be easily playable by visiting its URL.

Google Adds New Private Option

Previously YouTube only had two options for viewing permissions, Public and Private. The public view is the primary and most commonly used option, allowing anyone to find and watch your videos quickly. The private view is very restricted and only allows people whom you have specifically allowed to see.

Unlisted, the new third option brings in a whole new element to YouTube that many people have already been using in Google Docs and Google Picasa Web Albums. An Unlisted video does not show up in Google searches, YouTube searches, user profiles, or related videos. Essentially it’s the same thing as a Private video, but if someone wants to watch it, all they need is the YouTube video’s URL address. I guess one might call this Security by Obscurity meaning, the security or privacy of the video is only as good as long as those you give the link to do not publish it on Twitter.

YouTubes new unlisted feature

How do I share or watch an Unlisted YouTube video?

The entire reason for YouTube introducing unlisted videos was to make sharing private videos incredibly easy and warm up to those who might be a bit tweaked towards privacy and security (me). So to share this new Unlisted video, copy the URL address in your browser and then Paste it wherever your friend will be able to read it (email, chat window, etc.)  Then all the viewer has to do is copy the URL and put it into their browser’s address bar.  Presto!

how to share an unlisted youtube video

If the video you upload is embarrassing or confidential, be careful to whom you allow accessing the URL!  There is nothing stopping anyone from sharing it with even more people. However, if it gets out of hand, you can always up the security on it and switch it to completely Private at any time.

Keep in mind that Unlisted videos are not exempt from the YouTube Terms of Service or Privacy Policy. This policy means if you upload X-rated or Copyrighted content, other people who know your video URL can flag and report it, resulting in removing the video and/or suspension of your YouTube account. Note that if your YouTube account is not in good standing, you will not be allowed to use the Unlisted feature.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. coach luggage

    the way to assistance japan.splendid knowledge you’ve The way to support the persons of the Japan earthquake.We all will get Discount Coach Handbags.hope the folks good and joyful

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 

To Top