Sometimes you might find that having two Google+ accounts can annoying to keep straight. If you’d rather have a single account, including all of your contacts, you can merge two account together. Here’s how.
Why Would You Merge Google+ Accounts?
Having two accounts is likely if you have a personal Google+ account, and also one for work have a work that uses Google Apps. It’s much easier if you turn them into a single account, something that’s done using the ubiquitous Google Takeout, which we’ve shown you how to use to archive Gmail and Google Calendar data.
You will basically transfer your connections and circles from a source account to a destination one. After the merging process is complete, your connections will only get to see the destination account.
The destination profile will include all of the data, but not the posts in the source profile. If circles have the same, they will be merged. Also, authorship information will remain in the source profile, which will still exist. It will only be replaced by the destination one in other people’s circles.
How To Merge Accounts
To merge two Google+ accounts, make sure you’re logged in then head to this Google Takeout page. Once you’re there, click the Transfer button or link shown in the screenshot below.
You will be taken to the Circles Transfer Tool. Input the Google+ account to which you want to transfer your connections and your circles in the box on the right side, called Destination Account. Then, click Sign in to this account below it.
You will then be told once again what you’re getting yourself into — namely what’s transferred and where, and that you’ll be waiting for 7 days before it all begins. Another important thing is that the process can not be undone and you can’t use the tool for any of the accounts in the next six months.
Once you’ve clicked the Transfer button, all that’s left to do is wait. Do remember, though, that it’s possible to cancel the transfer anytime you want during the 7-day period. To do so, just click the link which appears at the bottom of either Google+ profiles. You will get a confirmation e-mail, too.
If you don’t cancel things, once the transfer is complete, you’ll only need to to manage one account. Remember that the source profile will remain in place. If you don’t want it anymore, you can just delete the Google+ profile – here’s how to do it.