How-To

Make Your Pixel Share Your Location Automatically in an Emergency

The Safety Check feature on Pixel devices is a great additional personal security measure in these uncertain times. Here’s how to use it.

Google Pixel devices have recently received a feature that keeps you safer by automatically sharing your location when needed. As this can be very helpful in a critical situation, let’s take a look at how you can set it up.

Personal Safety

Lately, we’ve been covering a few of the interesting Android features that Google has premiered on its Pixel range. Whether things like the Style Menu or adding Portrait Blur after taking a photo will make their way to other devices, only Google can tell. Not to mention the excellent Google Recorder app.

This time around, Google has focused on the security of Pixel users. The new Safety Check feature makes sure that emergency contacts are notified of your location if you don’t respond to a security check on your device.

This can be extremely useful if you have the habit of going out for a walk or run in the evening. Or, for example, if you walk home from work through an unsafe neighborhood. The possibilities are endless and the feature will be available on all Pixel devices.

Security Check

To set the feature up, start by tapping Safety in your Pixel’s main menu.

Pixel Security Check main

Next, if you haven’t already set some emergency contacts, that needs to be the first thing to do. Tap the Settings button on the top right side of the screen. We will return to the main window afterward.

Pixel Security Check settings

In the next window, tap Emergency contacts and, on the following screen, if you tap Add contact, you will be able to select anyone in your phonebook.

Pixel Security Check emergency contacts

Turning the Feature On

Return to the main screen of the feature and tap Safety Check. You will get a screen on which you can select the reason why you’re turning the feature on, as well as the duration for which you want to do it. You can choose from a list of predefined reasons or type your own.

Pixel Security Check turn on

You can then select which one of the contacts needs to be notified of your location after that time has passed. Once you’re happy with your choice, just tap Turn on.

Pixel Security Check turn on contacts

The screen will change to something similar to what you see below. If you need assistance sooner, you can tap to call the emergency services or turn on Emergency sharing sooner. You can also call said contacts straight away. A notification will also be shown, also offering the two options at the bottom of this screen.

You have the option to call everything off at any time.

Pixel Security Check On

When the time is up, you will be prompted via a notification. Tapping it opens the screen below.

Pixel Security Check prompt

If you don’t do anything, the app will go ahead and send your location to the contacts in question. It’s up to them to take it from there.

The Safety Check feature is a great additional personal security measure in these uncertain times. If you’re using a Pixel device, it’s well worth using it.

Click to comment
To Top