How-To

How to Leave Family Sharing on iPhone

iPhone featured

Family Sharing lets you share subscriptions and photos, but what if a member needs to leave? Here’s how to leave Family Sharing on iPhone.

Family Sharing on iPhone is a great way to share apps, subscriptions, and even photographs with a limited group of friends or family. By using Family Sharing, you only need one subscription to Apple Music that up to six people can use, for instance.

What if you no longer want to be a part of a family group, however? If this is the case, it’s easy to remove yourself from Family Sharing on iPhone in just a few taps. If you’re the family organizer for the group, you can even remove other people.

Here’s how to leave Family Sharing on iPhone.

What is Family Sharing?

Family Sharing on your iPhone or iPad allows up to six people to share access to a range of Apple services. This can help to spread the cost of these services among the people that use them.

Services that can be shared include:

  • Apple Music
  • Apple TV+
  • iTunes
  • Apple News+
  • Apple Arcade
  • iCloud storage
  • Family photo album
  • Apple Card

It’s also possible to locate the devices of the members of a Family Sharing group.

How to Remove Yourself from Family Sharing on iPhone

There are a number of reasons why you may decide to leave Family Sharing. You may decide that your next phone will be something other than an iPhone, meaning you can’t access any of the Apple services. You might also want to leave Family Sharing if you don’t really make use of it, and you’re taking up a spot that could go to someone else.

If you decide that you no longer wish to be part of a Family Sharing group, you can leave Family Sharing directly from your iPhone.

To remove yourself from Family Sharing:

  1. Launch the Settings app.
    iphone settings
  2. Tap on your name at the top of the screen.
    iphone account
  3. Select Family Sharing.
    iphone family sharing settings
  4. Tap on your name in the Family list.
    iphone family sharing member
  5. At the very bottom of the page, tap Stop Using Family Sharing.
    iphone stop using family sharing

How to Remove Someone Else from Family Sharing on iPhone

If you’re the family organizer, you have the ability to remove anyone aged 13 or above from a family group. You can’t remove a child under 13, however. Your only options are to move them to a new family group or delete their account.

To remove someone else from your family group on iPhone:

  1. Open the Settings app.
    iphone settings
  2. Tap your name at the top of the screen.
    iphone account
  3. Tap Family Sharing.
    iphone family sharing settings
  4. In the Family list, tap the name of the member that you want to remove.
    iphone select family member
  5. At the bottom the page, tap Remove *name* from Your Family.
    family sharing remove member

Take Control of Your iPhone

Learning how to leave Family Sharing on iPhone gives you greater control of your iPhone settings and what you share with others.

Want to try some other iPhone tips and tricks? If you’re in a rush, you can create custom text shortcuts to save time when typing common phrases. You can also lock Notes on your iPhone to keep them safe from prying eyes.

It’s even possible to block no caller ID calls to ensure that only your contacts’ calls get through.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 

To Top