How-To

Disable the Welcome Experience on Windows 10

After an update or creating a new account on Windows 10, it will occasionally open a tips window to explain what’s new about the operating system. This can be helpful to new and casual users so they know what’s new in the operating system after an update. But other users might find it annoying. If you are one who can do without the tips here’s how to disable them.

Disable the Windows 10 Welcome Experience

To get started, open the Start menu and click on Settings. Or, if you are a keyboard kung fu warrior use the shortcut Windows Key + I.

Settings Windows 10

When the Settings app window opens up select System from the menu.

When the System window opens up click Notifications & actions from the list on the left panel. Then on the right, scroll down and uncheck the “Show me the Windows welcome experience after updates and occasionally when I sign in to highlight what’s new and suggested” box.

notifications and actions

Close out of the Settings app and return to Windows 10. Moving forward you will no longer see Windows welcome experience tip boxes after updates or signing in to your PC.

Windows 10 will show the welcome experience after updates or when you create a new account. It suggests ways to improve your Windows 10 usage and Microsoft services to sign up for. While it shows up mostly after an update or new account creation, the tips can continue to appear periodically any time you turn on your PC.

One example of the welcome experience is a full-screen notification that suggests actions like setting up Windows Hello and Your Phone, but it also suggests getting Office 365 and tips on using OneDrive. These features and services are useful and popular, but some people don’t want to see these screens popping up while trying to get things done. The good thing is you can disable the welcome experience and spare yourself from the annoyance.

Click to comment
To Top