How-To

How to Disable “Let’s Finish Setting Up Your Device” on Windows

Windows 11

Windows will remind you to finish setting up your PC. Luckily, you can disable the “let’s finish setting up your device” message.

Windows 11 comes with many features ready to go out of the box, provided you attach your Microsoft account to them. When you do a clean install of Windows 11, it asks you to set up Microsoft Office, OneDrive, Windows Hello, Phone Links (previously Your Phone), etc.

If you don’t set up those Microsoft services, you’ll get a message reminding you to finish setting it up every few days. You can click Continue or Remind me in 3 days. Both options are annoying, and there’s no option to decline.

Instead, you’ll need to try a workaround. Here’s what you’ll need to do to disable the “Let’s finish setting up your device” message on Windows.

Disable “Let’s Finish Setting Up Your Device” on Windows

However, you may not have set those features up during installation. Maybe you don’t want to use them or you’ve found alternatives that work better. Whatever the case, Windows 11 doesn’t like an incomplete setup, and every few days or so, you’ll get a message shown below that says, “Let’s finish setting up your device.” Essentially saying, it wants you to connect your PC to more Microsoft services.

The screen is nothing more than a reminder, and you can shut it off — click the Remind me in 3 days link to get to the desktop initially.

How to Disable the Message on Windows 11

  1. Open the Start menu and click Settings. Alternately, you can use Windows key + I to open Settings directly.Settings Windows 11
  2. When Settings opens, click on System on the left, and click Notifications on the right.
  3. Scroll down the Notifications screen and expand the Additional settings section.notifications advanced settings
  4. Uncheck each of the Additional settings options.uncheck additional settings
  5. Moving forward, you should no longer see the annoying “Let’s finish setting up your device” window. If you want to mute other notifications, uncheck the Show the Windows welcome experience after updates and when signed in to show what’s new and suggested and Suggest ways to get the most out of Windows and finish setting up the device options.

Disable the Notification via the Registry

If you still get the message or want to disable it permanently on Windows 11, you can use the Registry.

Note: The Registry is the lifeblood of Windows and entering or deleting a wrong value can render your system unstable or inoperable. Before proceeding, back the Registry up, create a Restore Point, or back up your computer first.

How to Disable the Notification via the Registry

  1. Use the keyboard shortcut Windows key + R to open the Run dialog.
  2. In Run, type regedit and click OK.run regedit
  3. When Registry Editor opens, navigate to the following path:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\ContentDeliveryManager
  4. In the ContentDeliveryManager key in the right pane, find SubscribedContent-310093Enabled and verify its value is set to 1.edit DWORD value data

If you want to enable the screen again for any reason, delete the SubscribedContent-310093Enabled value, and the screen will come back.

Disable Let’s Finish Setting Up Your Device Message on Windows 10

Unfortunately, this message also pops up periodically on Windows 10. It’s an identical message, but you can turn it off on Windows 10 by using the following steps.

How to Disable the Notification Message on Windows 10

  1. Open the Start menu and launch Settings.
  2. In Settings, press System > Notifications and actions.notifications and actions
  3. Uncheck the Suggest ways I can finish setting up my device to get the most out of Windows option near the top.Disable Let’s Finish Setting Up Your Device Message

Customizing Windows Notifications

While Windows typically shows the “Let’s finish setting up your device” message after a clean install, it may also appear (or reappear) after a cumulative or feature update. If you see the message again, just repeat the above step, head back into your notification settings, and turn it off again. You can also use the Registry for a more permanent solution.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Daniel

    February 26, 2023 at 1:50 am

    Thank you for this! I can’t believe Microsoft still haven’t learned this lesson. Every few months they find another way to try to trick/delude/pressure users into their online-connected services they don’t want. Every time there is outrage and pushback. Every time millions of people are forced to look for workarounds (which, for less experienced users, often carry risks). Most of the times (not this time, seemingly) Microsoft ends up being forced to cease their predatory tactics. And a few months later, they come up with the next underhanded scheme to try and fool unwary users.

    I’m a lifelong Windows users, and happy with the “operating system” part of the operating system. But that Microsoft still behaves this annoyingly is inexcusable.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 

To Top