How-To

How to Delete Direct Messages on Twitch

Gaming messaging featured

Do you have an unwelcome Twitch message that you’d like to delete? Follow the steps in this guide to do it.

I’m a big fan of Twitch—it’s a great platform for catching some chilled-out gaming streams in the evening. The problem I have with Twitch is with the spammers that send you direct messages with malicious links (or worse). If this happens to you, you’ll need to know how to delete direct messages on Twitch.

There are a few ways you can do this, depending on whether you’re using the Twitch website or mobile app. If you need to delete a message on Twitch, you can follow these steps.

How to Delete Direct Messages on the Twitch Website

Direct messages, known as Twitch whispers, are private conversations between two users on Twitch. You can send and receive direct messages from anyone on Twitch, even if you aren’t a follower. You can delete your direct messages, but there’s a catch. If you delete them, it deletes them on your side, but only temporarily. If a new message is sent or received, the entire message history will reappear again. The Twitch system simply hides the chat until it is restarted again.

You can only delete (or hide) entire conversations. To open your Twitch chat and delete any messages, you’ll need to use the Whispers menu on the Twitch website.

  1. To delete your Twitch DMs, open the Twitch website and sign in.
  2. Click the Whispers icon in the top-right.
    Open the Twitch whispers menu
  3. Hover over the conversation you want to delete until the Delete icon appears.
  4. When the Delete icon appears, click it.
    Deleting a Twitch whisper

There’s no need to confirm your choice—the message will disappear immediately. You can also stop the risk that you’ll receive unwanted messages while you’re watching your favorite streamer. There are a few workarounds to appear invisible on Twitch (as best you can) to limit the chances that you’ll be caught with unwanted messages in your inbox.

How to Delete Direct Messages on Twitch Mobile

Mobile users can also remove Twitch direct messages. The steps are the same, whether you’re using an Android, iPhone, or iPad device.

Like web users, there’s no way to delete individual messages. You can only remove entire conversations, and the same limitations apply. If the conversation is restarted, the entire message will reappear again. Use the steps below to remove them.

  1. To delete direct messages on mobile, open the Twitch app.
  2. Tap the Whispers icon in the top-right.
    Open the whisper menu on Twitch mobile
  3. In your Whispers menu, tap and hold the conversation you want to delete.
  4. From the pop-up menu, select Hide.
    Hiding a Twitch whisper on mobile
  5. Confirm you want to hide the conversation by pressing Yes.
    Confirm hiding a Twitch whisper on mobile

Twitch will remove the conversation from your Whispers list immediately. It’ll still be visible to the other person in their menu, and the entire conversation history will reappear if either of you restart the conversation.

Blocking Twitch Users to Permanently Hide Messages on Twitch

There’s no way to permanently delete a conversation, but there is a workaround. If you want to permanently hide it on your side, you can block the user.

Blocking the user blocks the ability to send and receive messages. By removing this ability, the conversation can’t be restarted, so it can’t reappear. You can do this via the Twitch website or mobile app.

Blocking a User on the Twitch Website

  1. Open the Twitch website and sign in.
  2. Click the Whispers icon in the top-right.
    Open the Twitch whispers menu
  3. Open the conversation containing the user you want to block, then click the gear icon in the pop-up message box in the top-right corner.
    Open the Twitch whisper settings menu
  4. From the menu, select the Block option.
    Blocking a Twitch user in a whisper box
  5. Confirm your choice by clicking Block in the pop-up box.
    Confirm blocking a Twitch user

Blocking a User on the Twitch Mobile App

  1. On Twitch mobile, tap the Whispers icon in the top-right.
    Open the whisper menu on Twitch mobile
  2. Tap and hold the conversation with the user you want to block.
  3. In the pop-up menu, tap Block.
    Block a user on Twitch mobile
  4. Choose a reason using the pop-up menu and click Confirm.
    Confirm blocking a Twitch user on mobile

Managing Your Messages on Twitch

While it’s unfortunate that you can’t permanently delete direct messages on Twitch, you can still hide the conversations you don’t want to see anymore.

Click to comment

0 Comments

  1. dan

    January 4, 2024 at 4:47 am

    you probably should have made it clear at the beginning that this doesn’t delete the messages, and only hides them

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 

To Top