Chrome just updated again and with it comes a neat little button for tidying up. As of version 220.127.116.11 (Stable) there is a new feature found in Chrome’s setting window that allows users to completely reset their browser. The result of activating this function will bring Chrome back to it’s initial state like it was at installation, with one particular benefit: it doesn’t erase your bookmarks. In other words:
Your browser settings will be restored to their original defaults. This will reset your homepage, new tab page and search engine, disable your extensions and unpin all tabs. It will also clear other temporary and cached data, such as cookies, content and site data.
Note: Extensions are not removed, they are only disabled.
To access the reset button open up the Chrome menu and click Settings.
From the settings window Click the blue Show advanced settings… link.
Now scroll all the way to the bottom of the settings page. At the bottom click the button, it will be labeled “Reset browser settings.”
One more dialog page will appear. This gives you the option to decide whether or not to send your configuration data to Google. And lastly is the final reset button.
After clicking it, viola! Chrome will have its default settings restored and all of the above mentioned changes will take place. If you have any tabs open they won’t be closed, however you may be signed out of whatever websites you are currently visiting.