Office 2013 sure has plenty of ways and reminders about signing in, but it doesn’t have nearly as many when it comes to signing out. Being signed in to Office 2013 with your Live/Hotmail account gives you the ability to instantly sync all of your docs, but this feature won’t work for everyone. Privacy or security minded individuals might prefer to steer clear of SkyDrive (I’m thinking about the most parnoid out there…) – and if that’s the case for you, disabling SkyDrive sync is relatively easy.
Open the File Menu and then Click the “Account” or if in Outlook: “Office Account” tab. Under User Information, there should be a Remove link to the right of your username. Click that Remove link.
A confirmation box will appear with the following text:
Removing this account will remove all customizations, and documents and notebooks may no longer sync to the server. For this change to fully take effect, please log off/log in to Windows at the next opportunity. Do you want to remove the account now?
You are now signed out of your Live/SkyDrive account in Office 2013. Documents should no longer automatically sync, and tadaa — Steve Ballmer won’t be able to sell your data to a foreign government or… your parents. Unfortunately, this may cause a few problems with any online OneNote notebooks normally stored on the SkyDrive folder. But, you can always download them and convert them to local copies.