Top Nav

Make Windows 8 Display the Delete Confirmation Message

In Windows 7 and previous versions of Windows, when you delete a file or shortcut, you get a confirmation dialog box first. Power users aren’t too fond of this, and disable the Delete Confirmation Dialog Message. After all, you’re just moving a file to the Recycle Bin and not deleting it forever – so why ask?

Confirm Dialog

Enable Display Delete Confirmation Dialog in Windows 8

Now in Windows 8, there’s no longer a confirmation dialog by default. While this makes us power users happy, not everyone is. Some users would like a confirmation message displayed before adding an item to the Recycle Bin.

To enable the message, right click the Recycle Bin and select Properties.

Properties

The Recycle Bin Properties screen opens. Check “Display Delete Confirmation Dialog” and click OK. If you’re really daring you might want to check the option to bypass the Recycle Bin completely, but I don’t recommend that, you never know when you might accidentally delete something important.

Display Message

Now when you try to delete a file, shortcut, or other items, the Confirmation Message will appear.

Confirm Dialog Win8

If you want to empty the Recycle Bin, a verification message still comes up in all versions of Windows.

Delete Multiple Items

Windows 8 allows you to reduce the size of the Recycle Bin just like in Windows 7. And, If you’d like easier access to it, you can pin the Recycle Bin to the Windows 8 Taskbar – just like you can in Windows 7.

, ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

 

navid: #navigation
×

Subscribe to our free newsletter and have our tips delivered to your inbox. Free Signup