A lot of changes have been happening on Facebook. One of the more surprising things I noticed was that the entire Info tab of my profile was turned into nothing but a giant link list to Facebook Fan Pages. I mean, I may be interested in cheeseburgers but that doesn’t mean I want to join the Facebook fan Page. If you’ve already been coerced into adding these Pages – like A LOT of people have been – here is the quickest way to delete them.
The Facebook Interests/Info To Page Conversion “Improvement”
The last time I logged in to Facebook and visited my info tab I noticed that Facebook was prompting me to link my profile to a list of Facebook Pages. Every single Interest, Book, Movie, Music, and even my occupational and hometown information were listed as possible Pages.
According to Facebook:
“We’ve improved the profile so that it doesn’t just list your information, but now links to Pages instead. We matched your info to the Page(s) below. Remember, your Pages are public.”
Pages are Public and so that means if I went ahead and linked my account to all these Pages matching my info, that it would be available for ANYONE to see. An “improvement?” Hardly. With that said and since there wasn’t a “No” option, I opted for the Ask me later button.
Guess what happened? If you try to avoid linking your profile to this pages, Facebook will instead just go ahead and Delete nearly EVERYTHING from your Info tab.
Here they are forcing you link your profile (and all of its information) to Pages if you want to list anything about yourself. So much for privacy… But what exactly is a Facebook Page?
So what is a Facebook Page?
A Facebook page is just like a Facebook friend. They have access to all of your information, photos, religious views, political views, and Email address. And here I was worried about Facebook apps accessing my data… Additionally, thanks to groovy reader “Polly” who recently pointed out an important segment of Facebook fine print:
“If your friend uses an application or website that you do not use, you can control certain types of information the application can access. Please note that applications will be able to access your Name, Profile Picture, Gender, as well as any information that is visible to Everyone. They will also be able to access your Connections, except the Connections noted with an asterisk below. In those cases, although the information is considered a Connection, you can control whether an application can access it.”
So unless you block your friends applications (very time consuming), they will be able to access all of your personal details and photos as well. But wait… Applications used by Pages can access your information as well, but in their case there is no way to block them.
Ready to remove Facebook Pages? You might lose your list of interests and other items on your Info Tab, but here is the how-to.
How To Remove Facebook Pages From Your Facebook Account
1. At the top-right of Facebook Click Account and Select Edit Friends.
2. Now once the new page loads, on the LEFT side-bar under Lists, Click Pages.
3. Once the Pages window loads, you’ll see a list of all of your Pages. While you have the ability to add pages at a whim, when it comes to deleting them you have to manually Click the X for each page an then confirm the deletion.
Where’s the bulk “delete all” Page removal feature Facebook? Manually deleting each page is going to take a while, especially if you have 100’s or like some people, thousands of Facebook pages attached to your account. This might seem hopeless and it certainly could be, but there is one small trick to make it go faster.
4. Save Time. Once you Click the X that signals a deletion, the confirmation window will appear. Rather than wasting your mouse away with time-consuming clicks, just Press the Enter button on your keyboard. Luckily Facebook left Remove as the default when you press Enter, so you can quickly go through a lot of Page deletions by rapidly clicking X and spamming the Enter key.
So again, Facebook has made it incredibly difficult to maintain your privacy and even gone as far as to force you to link your profile to public Pages. Really?? With the current look of things, the only way to guarantee your personal information isn’t stolen, sold, and used is to Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account. Sorry Facebook, you’ve left us no choice.