Top Nav

How to Delete Your Netflix History and Save Embarrassment

If you’ve watched some weird or cheesy movies or TV shows on Netflix and don’t want your spouse or other family members to see them, you can delete the history of what you’ve viewed.

Maybe you secretly had a fondness for the Tanner’s as a kid, and binged watched the Full House reboot Fuller House, and don’t want people knowing you viewed it. Whatever the reason is, getting rid of your history is easy.

Delete Netflix History

To remove it you’ll need to log into the Netflix site. Then go to My Account > Viewing activity located in the My Profile section.

viewing activity

Now just click the X next to the show(s) you want to hide. It also gives you the option to remove an entire series, which is much easier if you don’t want to delete each episode of a show individually.

delte and remove

That’s it! There are a couple of benefits to this. First, there won’t be any traces of what you have been watching in the “Recently Viewed” section, and second, the show shouldn’t (mileage will vary with this, though) affect the suggestion algorithm that Netflix uses and pop up similar shows on the main menu.

Keep in mind that it can take up to 24 hours for the viewing activity to be removed from all of your devices. Also, remember that if you added something to your watch list, you need to remove it from there as well.

remove from list

More Reading:


One Response to How to Delete Your Netflix History and Save Embarrassment

  1. Cochiese_1 June 5, 2016 at 9:20 am #

    I dont’t think your history is removed from the server – only your local machine profile. ???

Leave a Reply