Top Nav

Automatically Delete Google Chrome Browsing History At Exit

Few days back, I posted a guide to so Firefox users to delete their browsing data at exit. If you use Google Chrome and want to make sure that there is no trace of the websites you visited — here’s how to delete everything when you close Chrome.

Open Google Chrome, click on Wrench menu and select Settings.

Chrome Browsing History 1

Under Settings section, click on Show Advanced Settings.

Chrome Browsing History 2

Find Privacy settings and click on the Content Settings button.

Chrome Browsing History 3

Under Cookies, check the box that says, Clear Cookies and Other Site and Plugin Data When I Close My Browser. This will delete the privacy data and your browsing history every time you exit your browser.

Chrome Browsing History 4

However, there are specific websites that you want to save in your browsing history, for example, Gmail, Facebook or your own site. You can add those websites to the exceptions list. Click on Manage Exceptions buttons under Cookies settings.

Chrome Browsing History 5

Add the URL of the website you want to keep in your browsing history, select Allow from dropdown menu and click OK.

Chrome Browsing History 6

Now, whenever you will close your browser, it will save the data and cookies for that specific website. Groovy!

, ,

10 Responses to Automatically Delete Google Chrome Browsing History At Exit

  1. dave strong June 6, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    Thanks I needed that!!

  2. google sucks July 5, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    Um, it still doesn’t delete history though…

  3. StillWithFirefox July 16, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    The history still remains.

  4. TechPro57 August 8, 2012 at 10:47 am #

    The option is not even available for Chrome 21.0.1180.60 m (doesn’t seem to work anyway). This is unconscionable. Can’t automatically delete history on exit? So the answer is: use Firefox.

  5. Stan August 20, 2012 at 6:46 am #

    This setting does not appear to be present in 21.0.1180.79 (Official Build 151411).

  6. Arcadian September 10, 2012 at 6:28 am #

    Come on Man. This is not automatic! smh

  7. Anon October 24, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

    No longer works. Chrome doesn’t seem to provide this as an option anymore. You can use Click&Clean chrome extension to accomplish a deletion of browser history on exit.

  8. jp December 19, 2012 at 8:32 am #

    Doesn’t work – tossa – why dont you ***** delete it you just wasted my time!

  9. Anon January 31, 2013 at 6:48 pm #

    Of course Google took that feature out. They DON’T WANT you to remove your history as they use this data for their ad targeting.

    • William October 9, 2013 at 11:19 am #

      Actually, they use your cookies for ad targeting. Your cookies, you can actually still set to delete after each session.

Leave a Reply

 

navid: #navigation
×

Subscribe to our free newsletter and have our tips delivered to your inbox. Free Signup